So close yet…

I’m not sure what to think about the fact that I’m graduating in just a few weeks. Which is amusing since I get asked on a daily basis how I feel about it. I guess I’m worried about what I’ll end up doing with my life. So far, I have plans to do a program in New York City where I’ll be taking two classes on international affairs and do an internship dealing with immigration. I’m really excited and nervous to get started. But what will happen after? Since classes and exams will be over in just over 2 weeks and graduation isn’t for another two weeks after that, I think I’m going to start applying for jobs so that I can start it someone in August. I plan on taking one or two years off before I start graduate school, to decide what I want to study, to get more experience, to be more sure of myself.

As with every stage in my life, I’m getting to the point where I start to wonder just how many people have gone through this and felt the exact same way I do now. I guess that thought makes feel a little less lonely, a little less lost. At the same time, though, it makes me feel a bit more overwhelmed. For every 10 people who are as unsure as I am, there is the same amount that knows what they want out of life and exactly what they have to do to get to it. As with every stage in my life that has change at its core, I’ll just take it one step at a time. There’s not a lot a can right now while worrying about finals, and that’s okay for now. I have time, right?

Leave a Reply

