heartbreak and booze

About a week ago my best friend caught her boyfriend walking out of their apartment with another girl. Long story short, she moved out and has been dealing with heart break ever since. I’ve never been in a serious or long term relationship so I cannot even begin to understand how she feels. She was with him for a year and suddenly he just decided that he didn’t want to be in a relationship anymore. Now, she is unfortunately becoming a cynic and jaded when it comes to love. I completely understand it and I can’t blame her, it just saddens me. She’s been a hopeless romantic since I’ve known her and I absolutely hate the fact that she may be giving up on that.

I’ve always heard that it is better to have loved and lost than to never have loved. She seems to disagree so completely with that now; saying that it’s not worth it to go through the heartache. I think that maybe things will change when she finds love again. I hope it does. Until then, we will drink too many margaritas, watch too many shows and let time do its thing.

Listening to heart attack and vine by Tom Waits
Leave a Reply

