Old friends, new discoveries

It’s so intriguing to me that the people you have known the longest and are the closest to are the ones that you often know the least about. I have a friend, let’s call her X (and yes, she is one of the ones from the list), that I have had the pleasure of knowing for a few years. But over the past few weeks, I have seen a whole other side of her that I didn’t know existed. Granted, she’s never been in the situations she’s lately found herself in and thus she may be actually acting in character but in a situation I’ve not seen her go through and thus it may appear that she’s been different, when really she has been the same. But aside from that roundabout explanation, I think it’s amazing that someone you know to be strong and independent can be so…. childish.

I haven’t seen her in a few months and I guess that could be part of the reason why I’m seeing a different her. When you are around a person constantly you either tend to forget about all the bad because you push it under the rug, or it gets highlighted because you see the good, the bad, and the ugly. Looking for and praying for the best in people has the tendency to turn around and bit you in the ass. If all you see is the good someone is and does, and force yourself to be oblivious to the rest, you run the risk of being blind to the truth. And we all know that’s never good.

Leave a Reply

