Too young

Just thought I’d throw a quick note out there. I need to get off facebook permanently. I keep seeing high school and middle school acquaintances that are getting engaged and my love life is dryly non-existent. I’m too young for this shit. I think that 22 or 23 is too young to get engaged. What’s wrong with waiting a few years and waiting until you have a steady job and have dealt with more than just the honeymoon phase of a relationship? Getting married this young worked back in the day, but with humans living longer and longer, it’s no surprise an increasing rate of people are getting divorces. You can’t expect yourself (or someone else) to be the same person you were when you were in your early 20s. People and life change and it’s too difficult to change at the same rate and in the same way as someone else. Don’t get me wrong, I love the idea of high school or even college sweet hearts and I would be devastated if the “Ukrainian” and Phantom wound up breaking up. But realistically, very few couples that meet this early in their lives will be compatible forever. Maybe people should slow down a bit and live more of their lives before settling down and finding someone they are more likely to be compatible with further down the line. That’s my cynical two cents.

Anillos de Matrimonio, Aros de Matrimonio

Anillos de Matrimonio, Aros de Matrimonio (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Or maybe I’m just jealous.

Leave a Reply

