A bit of wisdom

It’s been a bit of a long day for me today. I volunteered from 8:30-3:30 nonstop without getting to get lunch until I made it home at 4:00. Then I chilled at home until my mom finished work and we went to run some errands. And I did it all in heels. Okay, I may have been exaggerating the long day part. As far as days go, mine have tended to be a bit (a lot) on the chill side as of late. I’m just really not a heels kind of girl and wearing them all day made me happy, proud, and achy. Tomorrow I will revert back to my reliable flats.

On to the wisdom. There is this amazing facebook page that I am pretty much addicted to. It’s called Humans of New York (HONY) and it’s Brandon Stanton’s attempt at a photographic census of New York. The people he interviews have such incredible snippets of wisdom, that I feel compelled to at least share this one since it rings true for my life at the moment:

In case the link doesn’t work for some reason or another, here is what the quote for the picture was:

“If you could give one piece of advice to a large group of people, what would it be?”
“If something can be destroyed by truth, it should be.”
“I like that. Where’d it come from?”
“I’m not sure exactly. But it’s really just another way of stating the scientific method. We shouldn’t be clinging to hypotheses that are contradicted by observation.”

The sucky part is that it’s really tough to let go of our hypotheses about people, especially those we’ve formed for ourselves over a long period of time.

Leave a Reply

