Croquet and gin

Today The Ukrainian hosted The Second Annual Croquet Lawn Party. It was my first time attending since last year I was out of town when the first one fell together at the last minute, so I was over the moon thrilled to be attending this one. We made super last minute invitations with a little insert saying that the attire was formal. Ally and I went shopping yesterday at local consignment store and I bought the most “croquet-y” dress I could find and then today I spent the better part of about 4 hours going from store to store with my mom looking for a black blazer, black tights, and a matching hat. The end result wasn’t too shabby, if I do say so myself and Ally and I promptly arrived at “half past eight in the evening” (as the invitation stated) at the directed estate. It was a wonderful night of croquet, new people (mostly for Ally who was freaking out when we were getting ready), crumpets and scones, tea, gin, Pimm’s, and Cards Against Humanity. We had a really great time learning to play croquet by christmas lights and flash lights.

Now, we are very much looking forward to tomorrow – new year’s. We have a loose plan set, because we wouldn’t be us if we actually had a carefully (or sort of) constructed plan, and I simply cannot wait. 2013 has been a good year to me, I can’t deny that. But I still, as is human nature, find myself looking at the greener grass on the other side of the fence. I guess it’s a good thing to see it as that anyway, since we hardly have a say on time passing! I’m looking to starting out the new year strong by submitting my grad school applications (ones that I feel really good about, hopefully), getting fit for my cousin’s wedding in Colombia in early March, hearing back from grad schools (all good news, please!), and having that to look forward to later in the year. I feel good about 2014. No matter happens, it will be a great year.

Leave a Reply

