How to mix

It’s always really difficult to figure out exactly how, and even if you want, to mix different groups of friends together. I’ve been friends with Ally for about a decade now and yet she never really spent a significant amount of time with my friends from high school. It’s only until recently that I have really started to mix the two groups together and I’m not entirely sure what to think about it. Having worlds that you generally keep separate cross is one thing, but figuring out how to blend them together in a way that is acceptable and enjoyable for everyone is a whole other enchilada.

The problem that I keep running into is that I’m oddly self conscious of my friendships and I’m not sure what one party thinks of the other. I tend to, and I’m sure a lot of people are like this too, have different kinds of friendships with different people. Having a friendship that was forged in middle school and one that was forged in high school actually results in vastly different friendships down the line. Behaviours, habits, customs all tend to be different even though you are technically the same person. Learning how to let other people see sides of you and in a way be open to them judging your other friends and your other friendships is a difficult thing to do.

But let’s be honest. The more and more I think about it, I’m realizing that I’m not being fair. I have introduced and mixed The Ukrainian with my college friends without so much as a hitch. Why is this time different? Is it possible that I’m slightly embarrassed by certain friends and am afraid of my other friends judging me and them?
Leave a Reply

